About us

E.M. Heath Inc. took root in 1945 when Everett and Madeline Heath moved to Center Harbor, New Hampshire on the north shore of Lake Winnipesaukee. Starting out as a wide variety general store, Everett sold everything from shovels to seafood. This format led to Heath's gaining a well-earned reputation as the local "Dealer in Most Everything".

In 1963 Everett's oldest son, Bob joined the family business on a full-time basis and the growing company incorporated. In 1969 the Heaths changed their business model by constructing a new building as home to their first supermarket while expanding their hardware and clothing lines in the original store.

The next several decades saw many company changes as the Heath's family of businesses grew to include another supermarket, two additional hardware stores and a specialty gourmet store.

The 90`s saw some corporate consolidation as locations were either sold or closed. At this time, E.M. Heath, Inc. operates an ACE Hardware store and a full-line supermarket in the village of Center Harbor, JoJo`s Country Store in Moultonborough, The Golden Pond Country Store in Holderness and an ACE Hardware Store in Laconia. Additionally, the company is involved with limited property management.

Also, during the 90`s some key employees were made stockholders giving them a minority ownership in the business. Today those key employees run the day-to-day operations. Members of the Heath Family sit on the Board of Directors of the Corporation effectively overseeing the business.

Everett's spirit lives on in the business he founded as the company looks to serve the local area residents and frequent seasonal vacationers in a friendly, spirited way while still striving to maintain its small town roots as the "Dealer in Most Everything".

Corporate Office
President: David Petell
General Manager: Mike Hooper
Acct. Dept. Manager: Shannon Libby
Bookkeeper: Ande Hubbard
Merchandising Specialist: John Cohen

Officers and Directors
Director and Chairman: Robert E. Heath
Director and President: David A Petell
Director and Vice President: Holly Heath
Treasurer: Shannon Libby
Secretary: Michael Persson, Esquire
Director: George Hooper
Director: Cindy Oxton
Director: Theodore F. Fodero Jr.